Finol Star of Tomorrow Championship 2014

Leastone racing cars and Finol oils have come together to nurture new talent in single seater racing in Ireland. Through the Finol oils star of tomorrow Formula VEE championship, we hope to help promote and open the Irish single seater racing championships to new up and coming novice drivers. The championship will be open to all novice car circuit racers who want to take the next step up in their career. The 2015 Finol Star of Tomorrow will enjoy an all-expenses paid weekend racing for the final two rounds of the UK Monoposto championship at the daunting Oulton Park circuit. The prize also includes a full day testing in the Leastone 1000 before the double header.

Formula Vee

How Does It Work?

The Irish Formula VEE championships are divided into 3, The A (or National) Championship which all drivers compete for, then The B Championship which C drivers automatically step up into after competing in the C Championship. The C Championship is the 3rd; this championship is now known as The Finol Star of Tomorrow Championship. This championship is for Drivers who have not competed in more than 5 circuit races, so it’s truly for new drivers and young drivers stepping up from Karts and is the only novice circuit racing competition in Ireland.


How Do You Win The Championship?

The winner is the racer who has the most points at the end of the season. The season is run over 11 rounds with your best 9 counting towards the final results. The 2014 Finol Star of Tomorrow Championship winner is Sean Newsome.

Formula Vee Winner

Who Can Enter This Championship?

It is open to any new driver stepping up from non-circuit racing i.e. karts, rally cross, autograss and any new driver to motor racing wanting to get started in circuit racing.


How Do You Enter The Finol Star Of Tomorrow Championship?

The main contact is Formula Vee Association. For more information, you can contact the current chairman of the Association, John Downey. His mobile number is 087-2246059

To keep up to date with all the action from the championship and updates on leading drivers, like our Finol Star of Tomorrow Championship Facebook Page.

Another advantage of entering this championship to note is that each year there is the Dunlop Motorsport Ireland Young Driver of the year and the winner of this win a free drive the next year in Formula Ford. This is a great opportunity for the winner as it is a very costly step to make from Formula Vee to Formula Ford. The Dunlop Motorsport Ireland Young Driver of the year is chosen from entries in all three Formula Vee Championships, and last year’s winner Kevin O’Hara came from Formula VEE. Formula Vee driver Colm Blackburn was nominated for this year’s driver of the month for the month of July. The winner will be announced in January 2014. So Formula VEE is a great stepping stone for young drivers.


1 + 7 =

Finol Oils, 3 Stannaway Drive Crumlin Dublin 12 | Tel:+353 01 4555484